If you can't find your item, here is what you can do.
1) Return to the "last seen location"
The "last seen location" is the place that you were last connected to your TrackR via Bluetooth. When you leave an item behind, the Bluetooth connection is broken and the TrackR app remembers where and when, and marks it as the "last seen location." You can then click the "last seen location" banner and receive directions to this location and recover your item. Once there, walk around the area and check the TrackR app for a connection.
This is why is it essential to keep your Bluetooth turned on and the TrackR app running in the background of your phone at all times so that you have an accurate "last seen location." If you either turn off your Bluetooth or force close your TrackR app (what is force closing?) then the "last seen location" will be the place you turned off your Bluetooth or force closed your TrackR app - and not where you left your item.
2) Turn on Alerts
If you return to the "last seen location" but cannot connect to your TrackR, then your item may have been moved since you were disconnected from it. If so, you can turn on Crowd Locate Alerts and be sent an updated location once another TrackR user comes in Bluetooth range of your TrackR.
If your Bluetooth had been turned off or your TrackR app not running in the background of your phone when you lost your device, then your "last seen location" will not accurate, however, you can still turn on Alerts to be sent an updated location once another TrackR user is nearby. Once the location is updated, you can then receive directions to your item.
Always remember: Keep your Bluetooth on and your TrackR app running in the background of your phone at all times to ensure that the Last Seen Location is accurate!